…Far from royalty.

I’m a little slow

Well, actually my business has been a little slow the last couple of weeks.  Rather than sit around feeling sorry for myself, I decided to make the best use of the “time off.”  So I started to tackle my list of half done, er, well, uhhhh, never started projects I’ve been saving for a rainy day sweltering 102 degree days.  A couple of months ago I found a desk on Craigslist for $20 for Lillie’s room.  It was meant to be a vanity, but I ditched the tri-fold mirror on top and filled the screw holes with wood putty.  After a little sanding, and 47 coats of satin white spray paint, it looked amazing.  There was some kind of gray/black residue one of the legs that looked like tape had been wrapped around it.  I commenced to  cleaning it up and before I knew it, I had a brand spanking new-ish desk.

I had also found a chair at a garage sale for $7, it was dark brown and boring.  So after a light sand, 2 primer coats and 2 cans of the loudest orange paint we could find, Lillie’s old desk and chair were new again.  I was also able to find a piece of blue Hawaiian fabric for $4.99/yd.

After shot of the desk and chair

I bought 1/2  yard for the chair cushion, and only used half of that, or one side of the fold (in fancy sewing speak.)  I used the remainder to of the fabric to recover a lamp shade. ($2.50 for both pieces)   Not just any lamp though, this one was special.  It had a pull chain!  We drove all over town TWICE looking for it, because I refused to pay $30 for a lamp base.  We were covering our own shade, so it needed to cost half of that.  Target to the rescue!  We found a brushed nickel pull chain lamp with an added bonus.  It had a flat base.  Lillie used some of her very own money to buy three figurines from the Dollar Tree.  So hot glued mounted to this very special lamp base (was a hula girl and two surfboards), and it was topped with the most awesome lamp shade a giddy 7 year old girl had ever seen.

Although her room has a vibrant surf theme, the furniture was all white, so the pop of orange was just what her space needed.  Prior to painting the furniture, Mike and I built the most awesome surf shack/tiki hut from scrap lumber and several grass skirts left over from my sister’s Luau (from a vacation on Galveston Island) a few years back (free!).   If only this surf shack had something to surf with…like, oh I don’t know, maybe a surf board?!   To be continued…someday, hopefully in this century.

Leave a Reply

