…Far from royalty.

Thrift Store Decor

This morning started out just like every other Monday morning.  Pancakes with chocolate chips, “brush your teeth and hair!”, and “Oh, Mommy! I need to tell you something!”  This something was “I left my (3) library books at Grama and Grandad’s house.”  It wasn’t in my plans to drive the 45+ miles to go get them, but what can you do?  Fortunately, I have an awesome father-in-law, who met me halfway, so I didn’t have make the entire drive.  While I was sitting in the Wendy’s parking lot, waiting for him to arrive, I remembered a thrift store a few blocks down.  I hardly ever get there, but there is always something I can’t live without.

I was in the mood to craft, but not ready to take on a huge project, like my bathroom makeover.  I perused the junk aisle, as my sister and I affectionately call it, and found several things I can work into the new cottage style I’m going for.

Thrift Store crafts

$7 for all of this

When I finally made it back home, I took the plate, the bowl and the bud vase, washed and bleached them, and permanently fused them together with epoxy. (I  have a new found love for epoxy, and all its bonding magic.)  This is what I came up with…

Mismatched plate, bowl and bud vase

Is now an awesome chip and dip plate!

White plate, bowl and bud vase

Thrift store junk...

I also found a white ceramic container.  It probably was the insert to a small crock pot, but I’m really not sure.  I loved that it was big, and white, and cottage-y, but wasn’t sure what to do with it.  It could possibly be a planter, or something to hold fruit or after school snacks.  One of my favorite Chirstmas presents was all new kitchen utensils. They were too jumbled in the container I had them in;  so, for now, it is being used to store utensils.

crock pot insert

Utensil storage crock

I also found this cute apple-shaped bowl.  Perfect for after school snacks.

After school snack bowl

Perfect for after school snacks.

Leave a Reply

